Shorter Games

Skwish-E

Jeff's blog entry today is about writing shorter games.

Old People Don't Finish Stuff

For some reason, I can't comment on his blog anymore, so I have to post it here. The thing about Jeff's games that make them so great is the sweeping scope and sheer length of time it takes to get through them. My attention span is much longer than 10 hours, and I want a game that I can play for a year while waiting for the new one. Of course a full year for one playthrough is a bit too much even for me.

So here's the question:

Should future games be Avadon Length of Avernum 1-3 length?

Unfortunately, I don't have enough information to answer the poll, as I am a bit of a newb when it comes to SW games.

However, I do feel that games, particularly RPGs, should be at least "longish." A 10 hour RPG is short, in my opinion, 20 hours seems reasonable. 30 Seems awesome if the game is enjoyable.

Maybe you guys can help me out here; exactly how long are we talking?

How long is Avadon, do you think, on average?

How long were the Avernum games on average?

I am playing through Avadon now, and I am really enjoying it, so I hope it isn't TOO short. I need games to keep me occupied until the next SW release, as I think I have found one of my favourite game companies thanks to this game. Between Eschalon and Avadon, I'm hoping to make it to the new Avernum, but if not I might have to shell out for more SW titles. tongue

Originally Posted By: Enraged Slith
I really don't like discussing length as an indicator of quality. A game should be as long as it needs to be.

This really should be true. I want this to be true. Alas, I have trouble replaying Spiderweb games because of the time investments. I always plan to go replay and finish (for the first time, often) the Geneforge games, particularly 1 and 2. The problem is, these games require a bit of time, and I just can't bring myself to invest my free time in something more productive than lazing about.