What Are You Listening To?

Actaeon

I noticed we have fairly current topics on photography and literature, but nothing to address the (potentially?) diverse musical tastes or talents of this community.

I imagine something of the sort went up about the time Spiderweb got its own last.fm channel, but it'd be quite the resurrection.

So what do you listen to? Artists, particular songs, genres...

Alternatively, are you a musician yourself? Perhaps your fellow Spiderwebbers would like to hear your stuff.

How is that ironic? At all?

Lately, I've been listening to the likes of Kings of Convenience, Kate Nash, Arcade Fire, Black Kids, and Fun. My music taste is eclectic, though, and I've listened to everything from the Beatles and Beach Boys, to Pink Floyd and Yes, to Yellowcard and Greenday, to Carl Orff and Pachelbel. It all just comes in phases.

I am also a musician. I play the piano, and have written a few simple songs for it. I also mess around on the trumpet and drums, but that's just on the side.

I think we had a What Are You Listenng To topic, but it was either purged when Grneral was or is locked on page 12 or thereabouts. That said, I'm in a bit of a Rachmaninhoff (sp?) mood lately, mainly piano concertos number 2 and 3. I also listened to some Vierne pretty recently, although my heart still lies with Wagner and Liszt.

I don't remember a topic like this. I play cello and piano, with guitar on the side, and I like Bach's six cello suites, especially the 3rd + 5th + 6th, the Elgar cello concerto, Dvorak, Rachmaninoff, and others. Away from classical styles, I like Air, Zero 7, Wax Tailor, Sia, Bonobo, Morcheeba, Phronesis, Stacey Kent, Dave Brubeck Quartet, Röyksopp, Smashmouth, The White Stripes, The Ting Tings, ...

Just now?