Roguelikes-An Interesting Genre

Death Knight

I couldnt get into Roguelikes at first but now I am enjoying them immensely.

I found a roguelike named TOME, Tales of Maj'Eyal that is really a cool game. Its very much like a lot of roguelikes-Complicated but many choices to choose for class. Im currently playing as a Bulwark, that is a shield using warrior that is defensive based. Its got a great following which is really good as it makes things better for people like me-that is the currently inexperienced noob :)

I happen to think that turnbased roguelikes that do certain things right, can be very very good. Has anyone on these forums been a deadly roguelike master? Im still a noob and have already died and lost my 1st character, but im getting better and it is after all just one char to control.

I've been playing Angband as ever since I was a kid. I wouldn't say that I'm a master, but I have played a number of variants and have gotten very good. I'm particularly fond of SAngband. It has a classless system similar to Exile/Avernum, where you spend your experience on skills rather than accumulate it for levels. Right now I've been getting into EyAngband, another good variant that puts its own twists on the game.

I have to say, though, that even with all my experience, I feel like I've only scratched the surface of rogue-likes. It's probably one of the biggest, least-known genres out there.

I've not played ToME since back when it was an Angband variant. I'll need to take another look. (IMO the food shop on the surface ruins the Angbands)

i'm the opposite: angband is the only roguelike i could ever really get into (and actually won a game of once, without cheating) because effectively being on a timer to get stuff done in other games thanks to the lack of guaranteed food sources was too stressful for me

and yet i went ahead and made Roots. go figure