Torment Difficulty

SO I just played through on hard mode and was extraordinarily frustrated at times.

I like the challenge but is torment mode just some obscene damage reduction for enemies with no real exp bonuses or item improvements?

I could not play normal mode because it was just easy mode but at times hard was just annoying since it was merely a hefty across the board damage reduction with no real bonuses to exp or items or coin drop to compensate or balance.

So my question is on torment mode will I need to run around a great deal just fighting random enemies and getting 4 exp points just to get high enough to defeat some areas?

I can not help to feel that the difficulty modes were not tested or balanced but perhaps because I am very new to the game I am incorrect.

Originally Posted By: SapientCrow
So my question is on torment mode will I need to run around a great deal just fighting random enemies and getting 4 exp points just to get high enough to defeat some areas?

Fighting random encounters to level up doesn't really help very much. The important things on Torment are to put stat and skill points in the right places, use correct tactics and carefully choose what order to do various areas in. Even then, of course, it's not going to be easy. Strategy Central contains various useful resources.

SO I just played through on hard mode and was extraordinarily frustrated at times.
I like the challenge but is torment mode just some obscene damage reduction for enemies with no real exp bonuses or item improvements?

I could not play normal mode because it was just easy mode but at times hard was just annoying since it was merely a hefty across the board damage reduction with no real bonuses to exp or items or coin drop to compensate or balance.

They're not supposed to be balanced against each other. If you crank up the difficulty, the game gets harder. There's no reward for it; that would undermine the difficulty!