Special spells in Exodus

Jerakeen

I'm fairly new at this, so this may have been covered before, but I'm having issues with the special spells in Exodus. Ok, I admit the slime pit has me completely stymied. I checked the hints and found them unhelpful. To wit: Bind Foe doesn't seem to slow them down at all; Destruction I unfortunately missed getting; most irritating of all is that Capture Soul doesn't work! Any attempt to use it results only in the appearance of a useless humanoid object identified only as a "null". It doesn't do anything except die. All four of my slots remain empty, so I can't use Recall Soul.

Up to now, I got by without these spells just fine, but now it appears that I need them--does anybody know what the problem is?

Also, can anyone tell me if there is a finite number of slimes? Maybe I could stand at the entrance and try to pick them off a few at a time. Nothing else has worked.

Thanks.

Well, I got through the pits anyway, gradually, with judicious summoning and Major Hasting, and lots of missiles and healing. I would like to tell Kass where to stick his tapestry, but oh well. An interesting thing happened when I tried to Capture Soul again after acquiring a second level of it: a hostile null appeared--luckily it was equally useless. I guess I can do without these spells.

Bind Foe should really put a stop to them. If you cast it two or three times on anything, that thing should be out for a long while. I don't have any idea why that wouldn't work.

Nioca, if you e-mailed me about a problem with Capture Soul, it must have been at a time when I wasn't able to maintain Exodus at all, because I don't remember even attempting to do something about it (and, frustratingly, I can't find the e-mail now).

I used Capture Soul a lot during my various play-throughs, and I never had trouble with it, so I have no idea (none) why it would be acting up like this. The code is really straightforward.