Question of electoral reform

Micawber

Does anyone think using the Alternative Vote (AV) to elect a parliament is a good system?

If any Australians read this, it would be interesting to hear a perspective from people who actually use the system.

The background is, here in the UK, we're about to have the first nationwide referendum in decades. The question is do we continue to use First Past The Post (FPTP) or switch to AV. Those are the only two choices on the table.

FPTP is problematic when there are >2 parties in competition; the results are clearly not proportional. (Anyone who votes for a party other than the top two is under-represented.) However, back when I was a university student (some long while ago) I remember learning about various different electoral systems and the story we were told then was that AV would actually be less proportional in outcome than FPTP.

The commonly quoted example is that, under AV, in 1997 the ruling conservative party would have been almost wiped out by Tony Blair's labour (in the real world they were severely cut back, but with 30% of the vote still kept over 150 seats). There are clearly risks associated with giving a government carte blanche, with no effective opposition. However this analysis is all hypothetical: it makes assumptions about how people would have voted if the rules had been different, based on the way they voted under current rules.

The most convincing argument I've yet heard to vote for AV is that it might be a stepping stone for another, better system. If this move gets defeated, there may not be another chance to reform for another few decades. On the other hand, is it wise to introduce a system I don't really want, in the hope of replacing it in turn a bit later?