Favorite rosters & scenarios?

Evnissyen

The first time I went through A4 I went with four characters: A fighter, an archer, a mage and a priest. I soon found out that archers become increasingly less useful as time goes on. (I don't know why: I mean, in real life, the arrow is quite a deadly weapon.) Same with thrown weapons: they cause lots of damage in the beginning but not so much later on.

So I reduced it to two. Fighter (mostly useful as a magnet to keep your enemies away from your spellcasters and clumped together for those area-spells I love so much) and combined mage/priest.

I found out that A4 became extremely hard with just two characters. So I made it 3: fighter, mage, priest. That's what I'm playing with in A5.

Also, ever since I started playing the Spiderweb games (Geneforge 3), I found that "NORMAL" was just way too easy so I started playing "HARD" to make it challenging enough. I've liked it that way... until now.

With 3 characters and level HARD, well, the game is neither too challenging nor too easy -- it's pretty much just about right... but a strange thing has happened, which is that it's started to tire me out. At the point where I was almost at the end of the Anama lands and had just one more quest to complete, I was thinking, "What the hell... I've gotta go through ANOTHER quest now?"

All the pleasure was gone... that magic that I'd found in Geneforge 3. So I hate to admit it, but I had to reduce it to NORMAL level. Now it's back to being a pretty easy game (though harder than it'd be with 4 characters).

I'm not sure if Jeff Vogel would be comforted to hear that a full roster + NORMAL = piece of cake... (except for the occasional crazy-tough foe)

Probably most of this isn't very interesting, but I was wondering if anyone else thought they wanted to share their favorite ways of playing the game.