Good first game?

TempNameSuperstar

I just saw the Spiderweb Software GDC talk the other day which was really good and got me interested in the developer! I am an aspiring developer myself and a big fan of CRPGs but only got into them relatively recently so I didn’t know much about Spiderweb, apart from having Avernum 3 on Steam (probably from Humble Bundle).

But I would really like to try their games and I was wondering what would be a good first game to start with?

You'll probably get a bunch of different answers from different people on this. I don't feel I can properly answer this, but I can share how I got into the games. I started with the original Avernum, when I bought the bundle on GoG. If you can deal with the UI it is a great game. The Avernum 1 remake could also be a good starting spot. Or Avadon, or even the recent Geneforge: Mutagen. Again, a hard question for me to answer.

Edited by Chopkinsca

Jeff's first game waaaay back when was Exile.  That was remade 20ish years ago into Avernum which in turn was remade a few years ago into Avernum: Escape from the Pit.  So there's a long history with that game universe (generally known as Avernum - of which there are six games/chapters in the story).  Geneforge (remake of #1 just came out a few weeks ago) has 5 games/chapters.  Avadon has 3.  Queen's Wish was a new story that came out about a year ago, at least a trilogy is planned there & #2 will be the next game released by SW.  Then there's the stand alone game Nethergate set in ancient England when magic was still around (which is actually two games as you can play both the Romans & Celts). Each are in their own unique universe with different back stories/game play.  Each are very well done & each game has 60-100ish hours of playtime (so you'll be getting your money's worth even at full retail - there are usually bundles on sale at Steam or GOG every month or so...).