Game suggestion

srakken

Hello guys,

I am new to spiderweb games and have started playing Avadon after finding it on steam and so far have been enjoying it immensely. Reminds me of the old ultima days.

I am curious of the other spiderweb games and would like to try another one and am looking for suggestions.

I know some of the older ones have slightly crappier graphics but I might be able to look past it provided that it is engaging enough and that it has a functional UI.

What do you recommend?

Nethergate!

Actually, since all the games have substantial demos available, try them out and see which ones you like and can tolerate. Nethergate and Avernum 2 are perennial favorites, but with the first Avernum trilogy being remade it might be worth waiting on A1-3. The Geneforge series is beloved, and the second Avernum trilogy is quite good, more modern, and requires no knowledge of A1-3, although it will spoil them slightly.

—Alorael, who will reiterate use of demos. In particular, try the Geneforges. If you don't mind the engine roughness of G1, it's considered one of the strongest stories in the series and it's the foundation.

Ah. Right. Contributing to the theme. Try first of each series, and find out what suits you. It's nicer to visit them in roughly chronological order, and easier to progress with the engine rather than losing features as you go along.

Edit: At the risk of making an enemy of Tyran, I must also throw my personal support behind Geneforge. It's the game that brought me here.

Originally Posted By: srakken
Ok Maybe I will try Nethergate:R next. Geneforge seems to be getting a lot of comments how does the UI etc stack up against a game like avalon?