Jump to content


Character Editor


  • Please log in to reply
103 replies to this topic
Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 13 April 2011 - 07:03 PM #1 Character Editor

Two different Character Editors for Avadon: The Black Fortress

Why two? Different players want different things from an editor. They're both designed to be flexible - you can use them as much or as little as you like. The deluxe version will let you build a party of incredible power, while the no-frills version is for those who would just like all classes to have access to lock-picking, and perhaps to have a few extra skill points to play with.

There are some things you should know before you begin. First, and most important, the editors are unofficial and not supported by Spiderweb Software. Use them at your own risk!

On a related note, always be sure to back up all files before replacing or altering them in any way. This is the simplest way to avoid having to re-download the whole game if a file happens to be corrupted.

Once you have an editor installed (see download links and installation instructions below), it's very important that your party be in the starting order before you use it; otherwise skill points will be allocated incorrectly, potentially wrecking your party. This means that when you are in Avadon - the only place where you can see everyone at once - the character avatars should appear on the roster in this order from top to bottom:

Your character
Sevilin
Shima
Jenell
Nathalie

If you have changed the party order at all, you should switch it back before using the editor. You have to leave Avadon to do this, unfortunately, and it may take several trips if you have changed things much.


Click to reveal.. (If you need to change the roster order but you find that you can't, read this. Otherwise, skip it.)
Spoiler

Now for the good stuff. What can you do with the editors?

The no-frills version lets you:

1. Raise your main character's locksmith skill by 4 points--this works for any class. Non-shadowwalkers won't see the skill on the screen, but it will still work.

2. Raise any character's first-tier skills (including auxiliaries) by 3 points each. The only exception is Steel Discipline for Shadowwalkers - this skill is just too powerful to risk raising above the 8 limit.

3. Retrain any character. Basically the same as retraining with Leala in the Beraza Woods, except that it will also reset the editor, so that the character can use it again if desired.

Once installed, access this editor by going upstairs to   Redbeard's Tower and talking to any one of the guards there.

The deluxe editor also does all of those things, plus you can:

4. Raise any character's attributes (DEX, STR, INT, END) by 5 points each up to 3 times.

5. Raise second-, third-, and fourth-tier skills for any character by 3 points each up to 2 times.

6. Get unlimited potions, scrolls, wands, crystals, runestones and lock-picks.It does not dispense cash per se, but of course you could use it to generate infinite income if you so desire.

Posted Image

7. Get a selection of charms.

8. Get "god party" defensive bonuses, making the party near-invulnerable. Among other benefits.

9. Get special gear, not available elsewhere in the game. Not "god items", just different.

Once installed, access this editor by clicking on the sign in front of Eye Tamaria's house  in   Goldcrag.




TO INSTALL THE EDITOR

Click on one of the links below to download the editor of your choice. The two editors are not meant to be used in tandem, though nothing bad will happen if you do. Just be aware that you can't double-dip.

  No-Frills Avadon Character Editor  -  When unzipped, this will be one .txt file in a folder. Drag it out of the folder and onto your desktop.

  Deluxe Avadon Character Editor  -  When unzipped, this will be two .txt files in a folder. Drag them out of the folder and onto your desktop. You need both to make the deluxe editor work properly.

Mac: Next, right-click on the Avadon icon and select "Show Package Contents".  Open the Contents folder. First, make a back-up copy of the whole Resources folder, and then drag and drop the new file(s) from your desktop into the original.

Windows: Next, open the Avadon files folder. First, make a back-up copy of the whole Scripts folder, and then drag and drop the new file(s) from your desktop into the original.

Once installed, you can access the no-frills version by talking to any guard in   Redbeard's Tower, and the deluxe version by clicking on the sign in front of Eye Tamaria's house in   Goldcrag.

Note that when you update or otherwise reinstall the game, the editor scripts will be overwritten. If you want to use the editor again, you will obviously have to reinstall it as well. If you don't want to reinstall the editor, be aware that any saved games that include custom items from the editor will no longer be playable - the game will get locked up looking for items that don't exist in the scripts.

FAQ

Will this work with any version of the game?

Spoiler

Does a character have to be present to be trained?

Spoiler

Can skills be raised above the caps?

Spoiler

Why are there limits on how many times I can use the features?

Spoiler

My skills are maxed out and now I can't allocate my attribute points.

Spoiler

Update: The deluxe version is now improved slightly--call it v1.1, I guess. It is no longer necessary to repeatedly click on the sign if you want to train more than one character.

Update: V1.2 -- Gave you the option to train the whole party at once, saving some steps. This option has been removed from later versions, in the interest of simplicity. Also added "god party" defensive bonuses.

Update: V1.3 of the deluxe editor and v1.1 of the no-frills version -- Both now offer retraining (credit to IBNobody for the idea), and the deluxe version now dispenses runestones.

Update: V1.3.1-- Fixed a minor bug and added the option to retrain the whole party at once, useful if you are unable to change the party order due to having unspent skill points.

Update: V1.4 (5/23/11)--Deluxe version had to be nerfed slightly because with some builds it was still possible to trigger "high damage" errors (h/t to Superba). This is what we get for circumventing Jeff's safeguards. If it happens at all with this version, it should be rare. This is the last version that works with downloading a single file. For those who prefer that, it can still be downloaded here.    

Update: V1.5 (6/6/11)--Added custom items to the deluxe version. This requires downloading a copy of the items script in addition to the dialogue script.

Update: V1.5.1 (10/12/11)--Fixed a bug with skill point allocation for the shaman.

Update: V1.5.2 (3/3/12)--Updated all files to the game's V1.0.4 versions. I'm unaware of any difference, but did it anyway in case of typo or minor bug fixes.

If anyone has issues or questions post them here or contact me at atuinmoves@gmail.com.

Unbound Draykon Unbound Draykon

Soldier

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,004
  • 115 posts

Posted 13 April 2011 - 07:14 PM #2 Character Editor

Nice editor! Even though i don't own Avadon because the Windows version hasn't been releasd yet. Great idea having two different editors to limit or increase the content that they contain!
"It's all topics, it is like grass. And all the glory of The spidernet. the grass and the flower verdorret fallen..."
~ Unbound Draykon



Edgwynezer Scrooge Edgwynezer Scrooge

Humany-Wumany

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 2,313
  • 7,232 posts
  • LocationUnited Kingdom

Posted 14 April 2011 - 06:20 AM #3 Character Editor

I guess you should add that this won't work with the Mac App Store version of the game, Turtle.

Otherwise, it looks good. I want to finish the game properly first, but I'll likely use this on later playthroughs purely to get all the skills.

Soul of Wit Soul of Wit

Shadowwalker

  • Member
    • Member ID: 1,001
  • 487 posts
  • LocationMotown

Posted 14 April 2011 - 06:32 AM #4 Character Editor

Does the no-frills editor allow you to edit all five potential party members? I ask, because you normally only see your one PC upstairs in Avadon.
"I'm beginning to question your dedication to Spiderweb Software"

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 14 April 2011 - 02:19 PM #5 Character Editor

Originally Posted By: Impudent Strumpet!
I guess you should add that this won't work with the Mac App Store version of the game, Turtle.


I knew I was forgetting something. Done.


Originally Posted By: Soul of Wit
Does the no-frills editor allow you to edit all five potential party members?

Yes. Characters need not be present to be trained, with either version.

GingerGlaahk GingerGlaahk

Citizen

  • Member
    • Member ID: 6,049
  • 24 posts

Posted 24 April 2011 - 03:21 AM #6 Character Editor

Originally Posted By: The Turtle Moves

You may also end up maxing out your skills at or above 8 before reaching the level cap, in which case you will no longer be able to allocate your natural skill points when you level up. This doesn't break anything; you can still allocate attribute points and exit normally. You may notice a message saying you haven't finished training this character; just ignore it.

Sadly, this is not the case (I emailed you about this) - the message will not let you exit and save and changes.
Fly like a butterfly,
Sting like a Glaahk

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 24 April 2011 - 04:20 AM #7 Character Editor

Oh, sorry, I understood this to mean the opposite:

Originally Posted By: GingerGlaahk's email
I increased Intelligence (or any other of the 4 basic skills) but then I could leave the window and save the changes after receiving the message in the bottom line of the screen.

Maybe there's a word missing.

My own testing indicates that you can save your changes as long as you allocate one skill point. I will edit the original post. Thanks for clarifying.

GingerGlaahk GingerGlaahk

Citizen

  • Member
    • Member ID: 6,049
  • 24 posts

Posted 24 April 2011 - 05:11 AM #8 Character Editor

Apparently I missed the "not" - I meant "could not".
The problem is that if you are capped already you cannot allocate even one point.
Fly like a butterfly,
Sting like a Glaahk

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 24 April 2011 - 06:51 AM #9 Character Editor

Right, so let's say you've used the editor to the max. Depending on when you've done it and how you built your character up to that point, you probably still have room for two points in one or more of the top-tier skills, and possibly in a couple others. If you still have more levels to gain and want the use of those attribute points, just make sure you leave at least one skill below 8, then don't top up that last skill until you're at the level cap. You should be able to allocate all of your accumulated attribute points, then add one point to your last skill, and save.

To me, the ideal way to use the editor (for maximum power) would be to take the initial 3 points to first-tier skills, then level up normally, and take both 3-point boosts to all skills only after reaching the level cap, which can happen well before the end of the game.  That also allows you to avoid any problems allocating your points.

Superba Superba

Sorcerer

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,556
  • 565 posts

Posted 24 April 2011 - 08:56 AM #10 Character Editor

@ Turtle

Maybe "superpowers" can modify the game, maybe unexpected events are under control? It happened to me with the strong editor, I killed Neray the smuggler in Wretch lands, while she was supposed to flee through the trapdoor. The trapdoor won't open. Perhaps this is not relevant but I had to point it out. Even if the passage under there is blocked this event seems to modify the game, because it is likely the battle in Jereth Deeps with Neray will not take place. Was this event forknown?
"Your freedom to do what?" "Sinister imp things".  "Loud Shadowalkers?"

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 24 April 2011 - 02:11 PM #11 Character Editor

This issue came up before the editor, when someone took the Neray quest at a too-high level. See   this post.  

So it's not really an editor bug. The poster reloaded and tried again, so I don't know what happens in the Deeps. I'd be interested to find out.

Randomizer Randomizer

Tormented Battle Mage

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 4,341
  • 14,172 posts

Posted 24 April 2011 - 03:38 PM #12 Character Editor

Neray is a SDF quest where trapdoors don't open or appear unless you follow the script and do things in the proper order.  If you don't have the quest than the Jhereth Deeps trapdoor doesn't appear and you can't open the Wretch Warrens trapdoor.
"I don't know how we can ever repay you!" - Rescued damsel in distress
"Oh, I'm sure we can think of something .... How much gold do you have?" - "Hero"

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 24 April 2011 - 04:31 PM #13 Character Editor

Yes, but the case here is that he had the quest and just killed her too quickly. A perusal of the scripts (in v1.0.3 at least) suggests that he should still be able to claim his reward from Tartam for having killed her, even if the encounter in the Jhereth Deeps never takes place.

Edit: Testing confirms this. So Superba, in answer to your question, building powerful characters with the editor can modify this quest line slightly but it won't break it. Killing Neray too early just means you miss out on whatever loot was in her lair in the Jhereth Deeps. And she doesn't drop the smokey greaves in the Wretch lands.

Superba Superba

Sorcerer

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,556
  • 565 posts

Posted 25 April 2011 - 12:54 PM #14 Character Editor

Thanks for checking this Turtle, I appreciate that. By the way I dismissed the superpowered party and enroled a new one. I guess one time +5 levels on basic skills is enough to be confident on hard/torment level, more than that may cause the game become of little interest (sorry for my English).
"Your freedom to do what?" "Sinister imp things".  "Loud Shadowalkers?"

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 25 April 2011 - 03:14 PM #15 Character Editor

I agree. The point is to enjoy the game. The editor could be useful for someone who is finding combat too difficult, but I would recommend restraint for best results.

madrigan madrigan

Shadowwalker

  • Member
    • Member ID: 5,608
  • 477 posts

Posted 26 April 2011 - 04:42 AM #16 Character Editor

I haven't tried this editor, but cheat games are a lot of fun. It's fun to beat the low-level enemies playing "straight," but it's also fun to dominate and disintegrate them like Mason Storm taking out a bunch of corrupt cops. Or Wong Fei Hung breaking up a streetfight. Or whatever.

Wind Wolf Wind Wolf

Soldier

  • Member
    • Member ID: 553
  • 120 posts

Posted 06 May 2011 - 03:13 PM #17 Character Editor

It says 'First, right-click on one of the links below and select "Download Linked File".' but that is not what happens for me.  I just get the open file and I am not sure what to do with it.  I can copy the information but I don't know the file name to put on it so I can replace the original in Scripts.  WW.

Edgwynezer Scrooge Edgwynezer Scrooge

Humany-Wumany

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 2,313
  • 7,232 posts
  • LocationUnited Kingdom

Posted 06 May 2011 - 03:17 PM #18 Character Editor

If you're using Firefox or Google Chrome, it should say "Save Link As..." when you right-click the link. Internet Explorer (8) will say "Save Target As..." or something similar.

McLeod McLeod

New Arrival

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,642
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 May 2011 - 03:32 PM #19 Character Editor

The No-Frills Avadon Character Editor is a lifesaver when it comes to lockpicking thank you very much!

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 06 May 2011 - 04:16 PM #20 Character Editor

@ Wind Wolf: I've added the file names to the first post, in case you still can't download them directly.

@ McLeod: Yes, it's very annoying not to have access to that skill. smile

@ Nikki: Thanks.

Superba Superba

Sorcerer

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,556
  • 565 posts

Posted 07 May 2011 - 01:30 AM #21 Character Editor

The party had some points missing the first time I tried the light editor, then I checked the strong editor with a new party and it missed to add all points in three categories to Sevilin and Shima (ok for the rest of the party). Having both editors installed may cause the problem? (didn't try to use both of them with the same party).
Sevilin was there, Shima wasn't.
"Your freedom to do what?" "Sinister imp things".  "Loud Shadowalkers?"

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 07 May 2011 - 04:49 AM #22 Character Editor

Having both editors installed should not cause a problem. They use the same flags, so if you use a feature for a character with the no-frills version, you won't be able to use the same feature for the same character again in the full version, but that should not affect a new party and it should not affect features that the no-frills version doesn't offer.

Just to make sure I'm understanding you correctly, you were not able to do anything at all for Sevilin and Shima with the deluxe editor? With a party that had not used either editor at all?

Edit: Did Sevilin and Shima's names just not appear as options, or did you select them and then then nothing happened?

And I'm not sure what "had some points missing" means. Some of the extra skill points didn't appear on the skill tree? For who?


Superba Superba

Sorcerer

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,556
  • 565 posts

Posted 07 May 2011 - 07:44 AM #23 Character Editor

The names appeared and I clicked on them and the procedure went on regularly, only the effects were missing.
So the deluxe editor did not work with Shima and Sevilin, and yes again the party did not use the other editor or the deluxe one before.
I used it at first with the first option and points were added to the five characters.
Then I waited to further use the editor the moment I placed all the regular battle points to fill the basic skills (i.g. battle shield level 8, melee training level 8, second wind level 8).
Only after this step I used the deluxe editor to put the 5 points and raise the levels from 8 to 13, but it worked only for the other three characters, not for Shima and Sevilin.
Then I tried the other two points options of the editor, which worked well for the other three characters and again not for the warriors.
"Your freedom to do what?" "Sinister imp things".  "Loud Shadowalkers?"

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 07 May 2011 - 08:49 AM #24 Character Editor

Hm. The 5 points actually go to the basic attributes (strength, dexterity, intelligence and endurance), not to your skills. Those you can raise by 3 points at a time. Which would have raised your skills from 8 to 11, if you had chosen that option.

Is it possible that you were expecting to see a 5-point increase in skills and did not notice that the attributes had been increased instead?

Next question is, going back into the editor afterwards, were you able to select those same options again, with the same (lack of) result? Please try it and see if the options start to disappear (as they should after being used the requisite number of times).

I've been unable to reproduce this bug. Has anyone else had a similar problem?

Superba Superba

Sorcerer

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,556
  • 565 posts

Posted 07 May 2011 - 10:24 AM #25 Character Editor

Sorry, I was wrong writing points in the message not in practice.
The 5 points you correctly talk about are all there for each character as I meant to write. I confirm options disappeared regularly after the requisite number of times and I don't see them now.

This is the full example (deluxe editor)

Sevelin is now level 18 with

strenght 38
Dexterity 28
Intelligence 24
Endurance 25

so the first option worked

battle shield level 8, melee training level 8, second wind level 8 are due to normal battle points,

so second option didn't work

Then

archery training 5
path of the blade 3
war cry 0

third option didn't work.


On the other side, main character (a sorceress) has a hell of a devastating upgrade :-)

level 18

strenght 23
dexterity 25
intelligence 39
endurance 24

worked

firebolt 13
ward mastery 13
daze 13

worked

lighting wind 7
focus mastery 7
arcane blessing 3
ice storm 5
magical mastery 5
arcane curse 3
searing spray 3
cloud of confusion 3

worked (used this option only once)

When you say there's no explanation I could reload the original resources folder and try the editor again to see if there is a software problem of some sort in my computer.
What do you think?
"Your freedom to do what?" "Sinister imp things".  "Loud Shadowalkers?"

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 07 May 2011 - 11:31 AM #26 Character Editor

Good idea. And it might be useful if you could also press 't' just before you test it, to open the text area at the bottom of the screen, and then make a note of what (if anything) appears there when you try to train Shima and Sevilin.  

Edit: Hopefully you have a save from before you used the editor. Otherwise, let me know and I'll give you the SDFs to reset it.



Wind Wolf Wind Wolf

Soldier

  • Member
    • Member ID: 553
  • 120 posts

Posted 07 May 2011 - 06:01 PM #27 Character Editor

Thank you, WW.

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 08 May 2011 - 02:26 AM #28 Character Editor

An improved version of the Deluxe Editor is now available. It's easier to navigate; you will no longer have to keep clicking the sign to continue training.

Superba Superba

Sorcerer

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,556
  • 565 posts

Posted 08 May 2011 - 08:40 AM #29 Character Editor

I'd appreciate this SDF thing to reset it 'cause my saves are edited or in the last part of the game when you can't get back to Avadon :-) sorry I'm not much into computers.
As a simple alternative I could start a new party.
For now I loaded the original resources folder and dropped the improved version of the Deluxe Editor in it.
Waiting for further instructions :-)
"Your freedom to do what?" "Sinister imp things".  "Loud Shadowalkers?"

Glassk Glassk

Mercenary

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,638
  • 74 posts

Posted 08 May 2011 - 09:00 AM #30 Character Editor

I just want to "respec". Beraza Woods is too far away now.

"5. Get ... lock-picks." That's very nice option.
I should note that English is not my native language.
So it's difficult for me to use it to talk fluently.
But it's easy for me to read.

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 08 May 2011 - 03:19 PM #31 Character Editor

@ Superba: I PMed you instructions. Let me know how it turns out.

@ Glassk: You can respec by pressing shift-d and then typing in 'retrain'. If you do that after using the editor, though, you will lose all the extra points you gained.

Lock-picks are nice, though there really are enough in the game for most purposes.

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 09 May 2011 - 02:30 PM #32 Character Editor

OK, I finally figured out what was causing Superba's problem.   blush

I thought I had tested for this, but apparently not.

In order for the Editor to assign skill points correctly, your party must be in the starting order (though they don't all have to be present):

You
Sevilin
Shima
Jenell
Nathalie

I'm looking for a way around this, but for now if you have changed the party order at all, you should put it back before using the editor.


I will update the Editor itself to remind users of this.

Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 12 May 2011 - 09:39 AM #33 Character Editor

Hm, triple post.  Oh well.

Another new version of the deluxe editor is up. This one provides a shortcut for training the whole party at once, because it can be kind of annoying having to do it one character at a time.

It also has a new feature: massive defensive bonuses giving the party near-invulnerability, among other things. It's not possible to do a "god party" because of the limits on damage bonuses, but this is as close as I think you can get.

Adraeus Adraeus

New Arrival

  • Member
    • Member ID: 7,689
  • 4 posts

Posted 15 May 2011 - 09:39 AM #34 Character Editor

What's the syntax for each of these commands? Also, what do they do?

Code:
sf(99,12,2);

inc_flag(98,(gf(99,1)),1);

alter_stat(gf(99,1),i,5);


Jerakeen Jerakeen

Runcible Pastrytarian

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 5,477
  • 2,198 posts
  • LocationThree Sheets to the Wind house, in Sinshan

Posted 15 May 2011 - 10:50 AM #35 Character Editor

The game uses flags to track events.

Quote:

sf(99,12,2);

sf = set flag.
sf(x_coordinate,y_coordinate,new_value)

the first two numbers (99,12) are the grid coordinates of the flag; the third number is the value to set it to.

Quote:

inc_flag(98,(gf(99,1)),1);

inc_flag = increase flag (as you might expect)
inc_flag(x_coordinate,y_coordinate,how_much)

gf = get flag.
gf(x_coordinate,y_coordinate)

Instead of changing the value of the flag to a set number, inc_flag changes it by the given amount. This lets you use the flag to, for example, count how many times something has happened.

gf returns the value of the given flag (99,1 in this case).

In the second example you chose, the flag (99,1) was previously given a value from 0 to 4, depending on which character was selected for training. So the command "gf(99,1)" would return that value--call it a for now--and increase flag 98,a by one. This lets you use the same command to track how many times each character uses that training option.

Quote:

alter_stat(gf(99,1),i,5);

alter_stat does just what it says.
alter_stat(which_char,which_stat,how_much)

gf(99,1) retrieves the character number as explained above. The second value represents which stat. The variable i was defined earlier in the code. Using a variable lets you use a loop to change a bunch of stats in sequence instead of having to use a separate command for each one. The third number (5 in this case) is how much to change it by.

I hope that helps.   smile

Edit: If you're planning on removing some of the restrictions, or otherwise upping the power of the editor, proceed at your own risk, and back up your saved game.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users