dialog/special encounter problem

Iluvhorses

Ok, this is my first time trying to create a BOA scenario. I don't have a story yet, but I'm just trying to get myself familiar with scripting and all that jazz until I do decide what I want to make a scenario about.

Ok, the current problem I'm having is with a special encounter. I have a town and I have a beggar in this town. Here's the code:

Code:
  beginstate11;     reset_dialog();     add_dialog_str(0, "You see a beggar holding out a tin cup to you.  _Could you please spare a few coins so I can eat?_" 0);     add_dialog_choice(0, "Yes I will. (Give him coins)");     add_dialog_choice(1, "Sorry, I don't have any myself.");     add_dialog_choice(2, "Back off old man and leave me alone!");     if (run_dialog(0) == TRUE) {         change_coins(-10);         message_dialog("He thanks you profusely and walks to the nearest bakery."," ");     }     else {                message_dialog("He sighs and sulks away."," ");                }                else {                          message_dialog("He spits in your face and walks away, muttering about how young people only think of themselves these days."," ");                           }break;
Ok, the problem I'm having is that when I play the scenario and I choose the third option, it gives the response "He sighs.." instead of "He spits...". I've tried figuring out what I should do differentely, and I've tried all of my resources (docs, westra's cookbook, Kelandon's page, plus looking at other scenarios). Any ideas??

Have you tried looking at door.txt script that comes with every scenario? It has an example of how to do this sort of thing.

The problem you are having is that there is only supposed to be one ELSE statement at the end of an IF-ELSE statement. This is because the ELSE statement is the "in the advent of nothing matching the preceeding if statements, do this".

But... you can have something similar to this:

Code: