A:EftP - Getting *really* frustrated with Grah-Hoth...

I'm not a huge expert on this style of game (JRPGs is mostly my wheelhouse, although I have played tactical RPGs before), but I'd been having fun with this game. (Well, there was that long stretch when I felt too weak to do anything, but I managed to get through it, then realize I missed a lot of level-appropriate stuff until after I was too strong for it to give me a challenge.) So I decided to play on Hard and see what happened. Other than the aforementioned stretch, it seemed to be going good.

So now I'm fighting Grah-Hoth, and losing repeatedly. On eight or nine attempts, I've defeated him exactly once, and then got beaten down by all the monsters that he summoned (although I was stupid and didn't see a precious Energy Elixir that was in my inventory that would've made a difference). All the other times, I've gotten him down to less than 1/3 (once, even a sliver) of HP before my party got separated, immobilized, and beaten down by fifteen monsters taking three actions each.

Most, if not all, online resources are worthless for strategy. Either they're vague or do not apply to this iPad remake (the monsters do NOT vanish when Grah-Hoth is defeated!). I'm seriously, seriously getting frustrated. I am NOT having fun (and no, I do not want to downgrade the difficulty; I got this far, so I want to finish this way). I bought Avadon and Avernum 6 before getting to this point on the strength of the previous experience, and now I'm actually regretting it. And to hear the Hawthorne fight is HARDER than this...? I am considering just giving up on the game now.

Please help steer me away from this path!

Boss fights heavily rely on tactics especially at harder difficulties. Summon monsters appear every few rounds, so there are two schools of thought on dealing with them. Both assume you will use potions and scrolls to haste the party for extra attacks.