Barriers, Blinking, and Blockage (Minor Spoilers)

Greetings, all!

This is my first time through Avernum on PC. I'm on Hard. Because it felt like the right difficulty at the start.

The Points

1: Can I make my Wizard the lead character, enter combat mode, cast Blink to get beyond a barrier, then end combat to force my party to regroup?

2: Since I can't kill bosses and boss packs, how should I get the experience, items, and training to do so? (I missed the opportunity to farm the Neph Fort back entrance fight.)

3: I've already agreed to help Kyass evict Cenac. How do I get into the tower where he is?

Background

My group (Dual Wield 'Paladin' Tank/Dual Wield Fighter DPS/Cleric/Wizard) is L12 going on 13. In general, I followed Slartibus's Guide for character building. And I refuse to cheat!

Things were going well until about L10 when area bosses just farmed me. I'm trying to save money by avoiding buying spells I can get from the Stagnant Tunnels. To do that, I seemingly need to get a L2 Dispel Barrier, but that's expensive. (I do have the Orb. Found it by accident. Woo!) To save money, I checked on the Arenea fight where I can get L1 Dispel Barrier as a reward. My party died before it got a turn.

I tried going through Erika's Tower, but died when I had to enter the pen near the start.

I can't get Solberg back to the Magi Tower because that means beating a demon lord, which implies I need Demonslayer, but at least one of its parts is guarded by a pack of boss demons at the Neraphim Fort.

My group has plenty of money (about 12K with Negotiator x4), but nowhere I'm confident spending it on. I've avoided buying weapon and armor upgrades, since I find similar gear anyway.

I already bought 2 ranks of Mass Heal. I'm seriously considering getting 2 ranks of Ward of Thoughts to avoid being dazed by the spiders. How helpful is rank 2 Ward of Thoughts? What else should I get?