A6 - Help on party composition appreciated

Laikos

I'm new to Avernum coming over from Avadon. One large complaint of mine in Avadon was the rather simplistic character progression... and whooo boy this is not a problem here!

I'm intending to do a hard playthrough for my first go at this with a Tank/dps/priest/mage combo. It is my plan to have the tank use a shield and fast track to the parry and riposte lines. Dps I haven't decided on an archer or a melee dual wielder --any suggestions? I couldn't really keep agro on the tank in Avadon and I'm worried the same will happen here and my poor rogue will break. Priest and mage will be pure.

So... Main questions:

Is the xp penalty for using the non human races a major issue? Do you suggest that I MUST use <x> race with <y> class or is it not much of a big deal?

What positive perks are unusually helpful for each of my classes long term? What negative perks do you typically use for character archetypes?

I see that training can get me through most of the utility based checks in the game like nature and arcane lore, but should I have a certain amount to begin with to serve me early on?

How far would you go into defensive style skills with the dual wielding dps character?

Thanks again, I'm quite new and reading through the posts but it'd a bit too much information for me to parse right now. Any tips greatly appreciated.

Experience penalties are not a huge deal. Taking non-human races is a great idea if you want to use poles (slith) or bows (nephil). Nephil isn't bad for any characters, really.