computer advice

The Mystic

My laptop has been giving me a lot of grief lately, so I've decided it's time to start looking for a replacement; this time I'm getting a desktop computer. However, instead of buying a pre-built computer like I've always done, I'm planning to build it myself. Since I've never done this before, and I don't really trust salespeople or the internet for this type of advice, I thought it best to ask here.

Here's what I'm planning thus far:

• operating system: Windows 7 Home Premium, though I haven't decided whether to go with 32-bit or 64-bit.
  • mouse & keyboard: I plan to use the ones I bought to use with my laptop; I've already checked to make sure they're compatible with Win7, and they are.
  • tower: I was told it really doesn't matter, as long as everything fits.
  • hard drive: approx. 500GB
  • RAM: 4GB minimum
  • CD/DVD drive: I plan to have two; one to read everything, and one strictly for writing.
  • motherboard: I haven't decided yet, but I know it has to be compatible with everything else.
  • processor: I haven't decided yet, but I know it needs to be compatible with the motherboard. Also, I don't plan to overclock.

64bit Windows is must if you plan to get at least that 4GB since 32bit doesn't recognize all memory.

mouse are keyboard are compatible with W7 except maybe extra buttons etc if those need driver and no driver hasn't made.

any midi-tower is good but on some there's extra fans installed or place for those.

HD-space is cheap so get 1 TB drive.

price between DVD-reader and DVD-writer isn't that big that so you can buy 2 DVD-writers.

Intel's Core ix-processors some need 3 memory banks (socket 1366) and some need 2 memory banks (socket 1156) so on 1sst case you need 6GB ram minimum and on 2nd case 4GB ram min. AMD's processors need 2 banks.

depending what proicessor you want what kind of motherboard you need.