Point of No Return, and other questions. (A: EFtP) (Sorry about double post. Not sure why that happened. Am new)

Minor Spoilers Follow. I have been unable to find answers to these online. All of these questions apply to Avernum: Escape From the Pit.

1.) POINT OF NO RETURN: I just started playing the trilogy a week ago, and was wondering if there is a point of no return that I need to be concerned about. I've been doing quests and tasks around Micah's Castle, but have been hesitant about entering yet because I'm concerned that will send me down a path I don't want. I seek revenge against the Empire, and everyone seems to think that getting in touch with Ericka or Kyass are my best options. I haven't entered the Abyss yet. If I do too many quest for King Micah, The Scimitar, or for "what's-er-face" in Formello ( the lady from the Empire), will I forfeit my chances of fulfilling my personal vendetta against this tyrannical and oppressive regime?

2.) LEVEL CAP: I've also reached a point where I'm afraid to put anymore points into my character builds. Would anyone be kind enough to let me know what the level caps is? I can then calculate and keep myself from putting to many points into useless end-game skills like 'cave lore', etc. This way, I am sufficiently powerful enough to bring sweet, destructive justice down upon the Empire.

3.) POST-END GAMEPLAY: Can you explore and complete unfinished quests after the final quest is done? This way, if there are any tasks or quests I missed to assist the Avernites in bringing their fury to fruition against that racist, genocidal, small- d***ed Empire, I can go back and complete them. This question is more wishful thinking.

Thanks in advance for taking the time out of you busy pandemic existence to help me seek out a swift reckoning. Death to the Empire. LOVE this great game, and can't wait to play the other 2.

Edited by theloathable