Open Blade of Exile Win32 Custom Scenarii Support

Chokboyz

Update : why the bug happens has been found, see posts below.

Hello,

for what i have been able to understand (and test) custom scenario selection in the Win32 build of BoE is broken. Browsing the source of the build Ormus has kindly released

under GNU GLP2, i managed to (hopefully) found a fix ...

First of all, i'm not a programmer, so my code is not of the highest standard. Feel free to improve it wink

- What is wrong ?

In the FILEIO.cpp, the problem lies in the void build_scen_headers() function :

The parameters "scenarios/*.exs" in the line SendMessage(listbox,LB_DIR,0x0,(LPARAM) (LPCTSTR) "scenarios/*.exs");

and a few lines under, the parameter "scenarios/%s" in sprintf((char *) filename,"scenarios/%s",filename2);

are leaving the program clueless.

In fact, loading a savefile change the current directory to the one the savefile is. You can test it using the GetCurrentDirectory function or simply by copying the scenarios folder in the same directory as your savefile (usually My Documents) and scenarii should work.

What is happening is that the program try to find the "scenarios" directory in the folder your savefile is instead of the BoE folder.

- How to fix it ?

A quick "fix" would be to put your "scenarios" folder in the same folder as your savefile. Not properly a fix, it saves from having to recompile the code.

To fix the program itself, so it would look for the "scenarios" folder in the BoE folder, requires to modify the FILEIO.CPP file.

First we need a way to get the path to the executable "blades of exile.exe". I didn't find a function for it in the source code (not certain about that) so here is a proposition of such a fonction :

Click to reveal..
void Get_Path(char* path){

char szDirectory[MAX_PATH] = ""; //initialization

GetModuleFileName(NULL,szDirectory,sizeof(szDirectory)-1); //get the executable full path

int i=MAX_PATH; // initialize the first while loop