Crowdfunding to Revamp and Preserve Open Blades of Exile

Posted (edited)
Hi all! I've introduced my IRL self on the forums before, but here's a recap. My name's Nat. Inspired by Blades of Avernum and Blades of Exile, I'm a writer and a programmer now! This month I launched an IndieGoGo campaign with a goal of spending my summer revamping OpenBoE, because it needs some serious bug fixing and quality-of-life improvements to be playable on modern systems. JV tweeted and shared my campaign on Facebook, and it's actually going really well! So, if you take a look at the page and find yourself inclined to contribute, I'd be very grateful, but no pressure!

One of my main goals is to make as many of the old scenarios playable as possible, and preserve them in an accessible format--instead of scattered all over old fan sites which are slowly going defunct over the years, I'd like to centralize them in a lasting place and make it easier to load them into the game without fussing around with folders and zip/rar files. So, if you're a scenario designer, could I have your permission to host and maintain your scenarios? This might mean committing them to a GitHub repository, or uploading them to itch.io, and/or editing them to fix bugs and compatibility, without changing content or creative intention, of course.

Thanks so much for your contribution to the Blades  community which was so formative for me!

I sent the same message to every email address that was listed on the official Scenario List Page, all of which are more than 20 years old. Guess how many Mailer Daemon responses I got within moments? 😅
Edited by Duck in a Top Hat