Multi-town towns? (more than one 48 by 48)

I'm pretty new to scenario building in avernum. I've done plenty in other games, but little that needed scripting.

The place I'm designing is a farm/forest owned by a hermit/woodsman. It's based off an actual property that's 8 acres total. As it turns out, if you estimate a square is 5 feet by 5 feet, the usable 42 by 42 grid of a 48 by 48 town adds up to almost exactly one acre. Perfect.

Trouble is, I want to make it so if they, say, head north and exit one "town" section, they end up automatically in the town section to the north and vise verse.

I'd rather they didn't go back into outside view during the transition.

Any tips?

QglNGMf.png?1

Create a special encounter rectangle along the border of the town, then in the script for that state have a move_to_new_town call. It's even possible to avoid outdoors completely using this method.

Also, you're able to adjust the boundaries of a town in the editor (somehow; I don't have it open right now but I think there's a tool that lets you do that). So if you need a bit of extra space, it's possible.

So far, I've got custom terrain/floors/etc down, and custom graphics down.

But I'm pretty sure I butchered the script for this state.

begintownscript;

variables;

body;

beginstate 5;

move_to_new_town(1,24,6)

break;

Looking into it on my own, I tried to use the town details so that leaving the northern town by heading south would trigger state 5, and send the party to the southern town. No dice. "Error State not found -0"

So I tried the box along the bottom, same script. Also no dice.

Where did I go wrong?

Your move_to_new_town line doesn't end in a semi-colon. That's probably it.

If that doesn't fix things, try changing the state number (in both your script and in the editor) to 10 or higher. The editor asks for states to start at 10; I don't know if that's a requirement or just convention, though.

"Error State not found -0"