Avernum: EftP - Retrospective by a humble Potato

I've finally beat this new version of Avernum, and I want to express my opinions and feelings about the game, along with some summarized elements that I wish, someday, Spiderweb games implement.

Please, note that english is not my language, so excuse me if I make grammar atrocities.

First of all, I want to say that Avernum is my second game from Spiderweb; my first title was Avadon (I really liked Avadon, and that's the main reason I bought Avernum blindly). So, when I started playing Escape from the Pit, I was utterly surprised with the freedom and gameplay it offers; I knew gameplay was not as story driven as Avadon, but I didn't expect the scope and enormous world that awaited me. The amount of content and details of Avernum as a world is surprising.

On the other hand, I missed some of the party interactions and story driven elements from Avadon. A mix between the two gameplay styles could be epic ^_^

I don't know how was the skill and level up system from the original Avernum, but taking Avadon as a referent, I must say it's a clear improvement. It provides a neat canvas to make very interesting characters, without absurd restrcitions or non-personal complete freedom.

One little detail that I really appreciatte is the way that max level capacity is handled; also, I love how boss fights, no matter what level you go for them, always show some kind of challenge. The battle with the emperor and the big-badass demons are truly masterpieces ^_^

At artistic and technical level, despite being almost identical to Avadon, I reaaaaally enjoyed the more coherent size of maps and dungeons. Not only everything looked like better, but also was much more fun to play.

So, I'm going to try and summarize some elements that I've missed or wished for both Avadon and Avernum, specially concernign the interface: