First timer for the Avadon series (few questions)

AzuredreamsXT

Hey, just wanted to ask the veterans here some questions regarding the series, thanks in advance for any answers/feedback. I plan on starting with Avadon 1 then moving on to 2, so these questions are aimed at both games, essentially the series in general

1 - I'm new to the series but not at all new to rpg's in general, I tend to start rpg's on the hardest difficulty but is that a bad idea with this series? Does the hardest difficulty require a narrow range of builds and tactics to succeed at? Or is it really no different than most other rpg's (i.e if you have a good understanding of the game and strategize well, many different builds can work)

2 - So as I understand it, max party size is three, with whichever companions you don't bring with you chilling out at Avadon. Can I completely ignore the two I don't choose, or will the game punish me for doing so (i.e tailoring battles to all but force you to rotate all four companions in and out, or actually forcing you to use them all at one point or another)

3 - Is playing on the iPad much different than on the pc? I'd like to get the iPad version but if it's significantly worse in any way, i'll go for pc

Cheers

1. Avadon certainly has some freedom in character build choices on Torment, and you can change your party during the game. I think starting on Torment is not a bad choice given what you say about how you play. There are a couple specific fights which are very difficult to win without certain conditions, you can find these on the forums.