Jump to content


PC Abilities


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic
BainIhrno BainIhrno

Hand of Avadon

  • Moderator
    • Member ID: 3,311
  • 1,312 posts

Posted 24 February 2013 - 11:19 PM #1 PC Abilities

I have another question - will the init_special_abil call work outside of the scenario script? In other words, can you have custom abilities in your scenario that you don't start out with?

Ishad Nha Ishad Nha

Hand of Avadon

  • Member
    • Member ID: 4,773
  • 2,366 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 01:54 AM #2 PC Abilities

I don't think there is any way around it, you get the abilities at the start or not at all. You could have the abilities do nothing until an SDF is set.
What Kel would probably do here is have the abilities used from a book, but they don't appear in the book until a SDF is set.

nikki. nikki.

Humany-Wumany

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 2,313
  • 7,445 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 03:55 AM #3 PC Abilities

You're gonna have to define them in the scenario script, as usual yeah, but it might be possible not to give the player charges in the skill until later into the scenario, either through the use of SDFs, or even just regular code triggered by other scripts.

Of course, there's a quick way for you to find out - just add a node in a town script somewhere that adds charges of a special ability to a PC, and trigger it. If the PC gets can now use the ability, then they can be added whenever (and its been a long while but I'm pretty sure this is the case).

Kelandon Kelandon

!!!

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 2,682
  • 9,786 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 09:33 AM #4 PC Abilities

View PostBainIhrno, on 24 February 2013 - 11:19 PM, said:

I have another question - will the init_special_abil call work outside of the scenario script? In other words, can you have custom abilities in your scenario that you don't start out with?
To have custom abilities in your scenario that you don't start out with, init them in the LOAD_SCEN_STATE as usual, but don't call change_custom_abil_uses() until whenever you want the characters to have the ability. You can use the latter call whenever you want.
VCH: I believe we settled this way back when: Kelandon was the most attractive.
SoT: You'd be happy, too, if you were such a clever spider.
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!

BainIhrno BainIhrno

Hand of Avadon

  • Moderator
    • Member ID: 3,311
  • 1,312 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 03:27 PM #5 PC Abilities

Thanks, new question. I've been reading the script for Exodus trying to figure out how to make a custom ability do damage to an NPC. I'm hoping to put an ability in allowing the party to do a small amount of unblockable damage. Thanks.

Kelandon Kelandon

!!!

  • Global Moderator
    • Member ID: 2,682
  • 9,786 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 05:17 PM #6 PC Abilities

Er, small problem. Custom abilities don't take targets. Items take targets. In Exodus, the way I made special spells that damaged enemies that the player selected was through a spellbook item, not through a special ability. (I had a special ability to make the spellbook, in case the player inadvertently dropped the spellbook.) It may be possible to have a custom ability that damages a specific enemy or damages enemies near the party or something like that, but you can't get a custom ability to target a specific enemy.

Thus, make an item that takes a target and calls a scenario special (item ability 219). Then, in that special use a damage_char() call with a who_is_custom_item_target() call. Set the appropriate amount of damage and the damage type, and you're done.
VCH: I believe we settled this way back when: Kelandon was the most attractive.
SoT: You'd be happy, too, if you were such a clever spider.
Ephesos: In conclusion, yarr.

Kelandon's Pink and Pretty Page!!

BainIhrno BainIhrno

Hand of Avadon

  • Moderator
    • Member ID: 3,311
  • 1,312 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 06:32 PM #7 PC Abilities

Okay, thanks.

BainIhrno BainIhrno

Hand of Avadon

  • Moderator
    • Member ID: 3,311
  • 1,312 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 07:52 PM #8 PC Abilities

Okay, I'm having another problem with this. I've tested 'ability 3' and it isn't working properly.


Spoiler

For some reason, however, the game doesn't actually call state 111 when the ability is used. It just gives me a special item.

EDIT: Nevermind, the scenario script doesn't go past 100.

Ishad Nha Ishad Nha

Hand of Avadon

  • Member
    • Member ID: 4,773
  • 2,366 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 10:43 PM #9 PC Abilities

You can actually use Scenario states from 120 onwards, if they are called by a state in the range from 10 to 100.
BoA Editor documentation lists certain reserved state numbers:
INIT_STATE (equal to 0)
DEAD_STATE (equal to 1)
START_STATE (equal to 2)
EXIT_STATE (equal to 1)
START_SCEN_STATE (equal to 111)
SEARCH_STATE (equal to 100)
TALKING_STATE (equal to 110)
UNLOCK_SPELL_STATE (equal to 101)
SANCTIFICATION_STATE (equal to 102)
LOAD_SCEN_STATE (equal to 0)
BLOCK_MOVE_STATE (equal to 112)
DISPEL_BARRIER_STATE (equal to 113)
STEP_INTO_SPOT_STATE (equal to 114)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users