improved path-finding algorithms

mad_dog_killa

man so like errr?... ehhh?.. i guess i'm a student?.. yeah.. kind of.. student in informatics 2nd year. sooo?.. what i meant is?.. we learn these algorithms about graphs - Roy-Floyd, Roy-Warshall, Malgrange, Dantzing 1 and 2, Yen, Bellman-Kalaba, Ford-Fulkerson, Kruskal, Prim etc. they can be used for path-finding. well err?.. maybe you only need Roy-Floyd actually.. i made 2 java applets?.. which implement Roy-Floyd and Roy-Warshall?.. but err?.. you know i tried to put it on my site but the problem is?.. yeah.. they use functions which aren't safe for the err?.. the internet thing?.. so they can only be run offline right now. i mean during battle?.. sometimes when i try to attack with a spell caster, my player doesn't always go straight ahead to the enemy to cast that spell you know?.. i'm talking about avadon. which is errr?.. kind of.. wrong?.. or if he doesn't see the enemy.. so like.. you can use these algorithms you know? to improve the game? also maybe it would be a good idea to add different terrain types - like.. if you walk on water?.. it costs more action points. so ehh?.. you kind of.. treat each square as a node in a graph. and the distances are the action points required to move on that spot. you build the graph using a matrix, you use the algorithm and you determine the cheapest way (AP related) to move in that spot. also maybe some terrain types could be used to take cover?.. i mean?.. if you hide behind a tree you should be able to cast a spell and hit some dude. but he shouldn't hit you very good because you're under cover i mean?.. yeah.. pretty cool huh?.. like that game Jagged Alliance you know? i liked JA1 but JA2 is like.. omg.. did i say JA2?.. that horrible game?.. yeah.. i guess i did.. so it's very stoopid.. there's a single flaw in the game which basically ruins all the strategy..