Questons of the Newb about Blades

Acky

• Replies 116
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Firstly, read the BoA docs. The first chapter is a very useful guide for total beginners - it goes over the things you will be using all the time, and it pays to get them right first.

Also, check out Kelandon's site. It has lots of good articles, including Erik Westra's cookbook. These will be really, really helpful.

Thirdly, play BoA. You won't be able to design until you know how the engine works, and what kind of things will work well within it.

Finally - start small. A small scenario, of three or four towns, and one outdoors section might not seem a lot, but it'll show you just what is involved in BoA design, and, you have more chance of finishing that, than the 40-town epic we know you'll want to make eventually. smile

And with that, welcome to the team. If you have any questions, no matter how small, talk to us. Ask here, or email us. Pretty much everybody here will be willing to help you. smile

I seem to recall that Exodus had some substantial modifications made post-release, but yeah, not much like that has happened. I pondered doing an overhaul of DoK at some point, but I didn't have time.

But hey, welcome to the Blades community! As Nikki said, don't be afraid to ask for help. I'm personally on AIM a fair amount, and will help if prompted.

You also might want to check out the scenario "Settlers" by TM when you're ready to start. I'm pretty sure it was made as a tutorial/"what you should start with" scenario.

I'm not nearly as adept of a scripter as the rest of these guys so I have a pretty good grasp of how these things sound to the layman. Just ask me if you're confused about something and I'll try to help clear it up. Have fun.