New to designing - advise and help, please.

Lokiron

Hello everyone.

I've just registered BoA and I want to try to make some scenarios myself.

But I have no experience except for an invader game I made in 8. grade..

So I was wondering if anyone could take the time to give me some advise about every aspect of designing.

Which applications should I download, what should I read, and so on.

Firstly, well done!! The community loves designers.

It really depends if you are using Mac or PC with regards to applications, but all you really need are the BoA editor and a text editor. I would recommend the 3D editor though - it certainly helps.

Also, reading the BoA docs is a MUST. The first chapter in particular will be invalubale.

Also, START SMALL. Seriously. Download and play "Settlers" by TM to see what I mean here - this scenario also has a quick guide to creating scenarios that even new designers can follow.

And finally, don;t be afraid to ask questions - WE ARE HERE TO HELP YOU.

Okay, now let me see...

Firstly, get the 3Deditor , as Morricone suggested. It is a very good program and an absolute must for a designer. If you use a Mac, I recommend to you Textwrangel , which is a free, powerfull text editor. I recommend it to all designers. I also recommend Alint, which is a script-checking program. It can check your scripts for any mistakes before you load it into BoA to test your scenario, and that way saves you loads of time. Get it here .

So far for programs which I really recommend. There are others, but I don't think they will be very usefull for a new designer.

Now for the scripting (the 3DEditor you will have to figure out for yourself, I'm afraid, but don't be afraid to ask if you don't understand something.):