[No Spoilers!] Newbie Help Requested!

Greetings, all!

I beat Avernum 1's remake on Torment, meaning I have some experience with Spiderweb's games.  I'm new to the Geneforge series:  I read a Geneforge review in PC Gamer many years ago but only bought Geneforge 1 as part of the Kickstarter.

I started as a Shaper so I can be a Pokemon master, because in this universe, Shapers are gods!  And I've normally liked playing mages in general.

I'm level 2 and barely explored the island.  I've not spent any points because I wasn't sure what stuff was most important, nor how often I should expect to get points.

What newbie advice do you have for me and fellow newbs?

Thankee!

Up in the Strategy Central area (top of the subforum page where you posted this question) there are a few threads.  Some/many are filled with spoilers.  But there are some general hints/tips threads (such as this one) that are filled with good ideas (& perhaps very mild spoilers - such as 'when you get to 'x', you may want to look at 'y'...').  I didn't look at it but there's a hint thread on doing a torment solo run, there are probably some good ideas for how you want to go about things in there.  Reading them now, so early in the game, will probably help out a bit & any spoilers you do run across, you'll probably forget about them by the time you reach that point in the game.