The Spiderweb Software conundrum. What game to play next.

Chopkinsca

I'm new to Spiderweb games, at only a 1.76 years of playing them.

I wound up playing the original Avernum 1 - 3 again and had a great time with revisiting those games. The plan was to replay Nethergate after that then jump into BoA. Instead I gave Escape From the Pit a try and had a good time. Since I already owned it, I played Crystal Souls next and that was a really good time. I just finished off Ruined World last night. Three great games and I'm a bit sad that I finished them. I'll probably replay them at some point.

Now I have to decide what I want to play next. I want to replay Nethergate since that was a fun game. I only played halfway through Geneforge 3 and I kind of want to start that over and give it a proper finish. I own Avadon 2 and 3, so maybe I could play those considering I spent money on them. Then of course there is Queen's Wish. With that one I would try the demo first. So, quite a few options for me.

How do any of you folks decide what game to play next?

I've been playing SW games for more than ten years, which puts me in the 10th percentile of people on this forum, maybe? I think Avernum 4 is the oldest one I've finished, but I've played every one since then. I just get them as they're released. The older ones, I just can't cope with the interface and I find them all very difficult to play. Anyway, I think the major trend in Spiderweb games over the last decade is that while the game worlds are still fanciful, the moral dynamics of those worlds are more and more realistic. In Avernum 1 - 4, you're the hero. In Avernum 5, you're a functionary of a colonialist state. In Avernum 6, you're the hero again, but the Slith and the Vahnatai have some solid arguments, don't they?