Request to use Blades of Exile graphics

Unbound Servile

Hello Spiderweb,

I am an aspiring programmer who would like to make his own game.

I have mastered numerous languages and coding is no issue for me.

One problem: I'm no Picasso; even pixel-art graphics are beyond me.

However, the user-made graphics for BoE found on truesite4blades/PixleProfusion would be perfect for the little engine I have written.

Am I allowed to use those graphics in anything but BoE at all?

If so, am I allowed to sell a program making use of those graphics (with or without disclaimers)?

Thanks for your time,

Unbound Servile.

If you download the development version of OBoE, labeled as experimental in the forum header, all included graphics are available under GNU GPL 3.0+, You can use them in accordance with that license. If it's a user-made graphic not included with that program, it is likely not available under a free license and may even be infringing on somebody's copyrights or trademarks itself.

Edited by The Almighty Doer of Stuff

On 11/14/2017 at 2:29 AM, Unbound Servile said:

Thanks for shedding some light onto this. E-mailing every artist will not be a realistic job but I've looked up on that GPU GPL license, and it seems I'm indeed free to use and distribute OBOE. I've also gotten better at pixel-art and could soon be able to make my own graphics.

Hey, Could your "engine" be of any interest of a game? Like to test out?