G1 info + revelations

So yesterday, on a lark, I started playing G1 again for the first time in probably 13 or 14 years. Immediately glad of the choice. The interface might be awkward, but it has the charm of something being carved out freshly for the first time -- right down to the thorny-wood windowframes, and that spastic green background, which I would not now swap out for anything else. (And that title music: shades of Chrono Cross.)

The writing, well, the descriptions are all interesting because everything is uniquely constructed: the zones are simple but don't feel mass-produced. Even early on different creations feel very distinct in a way that was lost in the more recent games: thahds wander randomly while roamers sneak up on you, and vlish are dangerous due to their cries for other vlish.

The sects, too, are fresher than I remembered: the hopefulness and joy of the Awakened, which is already gone by G2; the never again seen obsequiousness of the Obeyers; and of course the angst of the Takers (that I didn't forget).

Of course I'm also approaching with a dissectionary mindset that I didn't have, once upon a time, so I've been looking at a few things. First, and I haven't seen this info anywhere else on the web, I've figured out how tools, Mechanics, and Unlock work.

Manually attempting a lock will succeed if the lock's level is no higher than:

Mechanics

Casting Unlock will succeed if the lock's level is no higher than:

Mechanics + 2 * (Unlock level + Mental Magic + Spellcraft)

Using a living tool will lower the level of a given lock by:

Mechanics