How to look for a suitable job?

Level 1 Hermit

I volunteered a lot in High School. I had a leadership internship at a political outreach organization for a year. I'm in a university pursuing a Biochemistry degree with a 3.0 GPA. I have no work experience. I can't find a job. I'm pretty much friendless. My parents have no connections. I can't find a job.

What do you guys recommend?

I'm asking on this forum because people usually have VERY long detailed posts. I assume everyone is well educated and can give a youngster some guidance on what to do with his life. Thank you. <3

Unfortunately a lot of things are all about networking. Not necessarily "who you know" but at the very least reaching out to people. You've done some volunteering. Ask some of those people for some letters of recommendation if you can, or at least find out who will allow you to list them as references.

If you haven't already, join LinkedIn and build a good profile there, and use it to connect to others. You can even search for job opportunities through there.

The nature of economy in a lot of areas has made it difficult to get a good first foot in the door. Find out if there are any decent temp agencies that deal with companies in the fields you want to work in. Temp work isn't ideal, but it provides businesses with a way to manage workload and certain needs without the major expense and responsibilities of hiring someone. As the "worker" you get a bit of the raw end of that deal, but it does give you something valuable: the foot in the door. If you can get that and then succeed at impressing and making a few connections, can probably turn that into something much bigger.

The easiest jobs are ones that your parents or near relatives can refer you to since the hirer knows them.