Where should I start designing?

Rosycat

Hello everybody!

I'm Rosycat and I have just joined these boards, although I have been reading them for answers and entertainment for quite some time. I am registering Blades of Exile(I have the demo) in March and am preparing for this by designing a scenario on paper. I'm writing dialologue, designing towns, writing plot, and so on.

But I'm a bit bewildered. Where should I start? I was thinking of an archipelago saga, about twenty towns. And whose scenarios should I play? Tatterdemalion or whatever-it-is? An Apology? Remember, I'm just a beginner. Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

I really admire you people, especially Alorael cool and Drakefyre, because of the mastery you seem to have for the games. I'm still trying to beat the golems in Exile 3!

Well, please reply. Thanks,

- Rosycat

• Replies 104
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

First, think out the plot a little. Get an idea of what you want to do. Make sure you give all your characters good motivation for what they're doing (Insanity and "pure evil" are bad excuses for a villian. Give them a better motivation.) and make sure you know how it will end, and some big points that will get it there. From there, it's up to you what order to do things in. You'll find the way you like best eventually.

I know the editor pretty well, and I know most of the major bugs. If you need help, feel free to contact me. My AIM address is Zeeqon5. Other people you might you might want to ask for help from:

AnamaFreak (Drakefyre)

Barcoorah (The Creator)

SeekerBB (Brett)

TerrorsMartyr (TerrorsMartyr)

There's other helpful members here who are good with the BoE editor, but I'm too tired to think of any more.

Oh, and one more thing: Don't talk about your scenarios before you finish them. You can ask for help programmingthings, but no more. Otherwise, you probably won't finish. Take Drakey's scenario, Rhapsody in Blue, for example.