Secret Tunnels

So I just started playing Nether Resurrection and I'm playing as Celts and approximately halfway through the goblin fort at the begging of the game. I'm noticing the Matt P guide references a lot of hidden tunnels and the such that I can't seem to find. Some of them have what the guide suggest are really important items for me to have (i.e. the second sylak key), among simple gear that I definitely want. What should I be doing to find all these tunnels?

You can walk right through some walls. The brute-force method of finding them is trying to walk into every wall. If you check the map for areas that are black and unexplored you can make better guesses at where the secret passages are. As you play you'll get a feel for their likely locations.

—Alorael, who will let you know, in case it's relevant, that Jeff uses this system for all the Exiles, Nethergate, and Avernum 1-3. In other games he largely got rid of wall-bashing in favor of buttons you have to find and press to open passages.

I didn't start in Might and Magic until the Mandate of Heaven and by that point there was always some sort of give-away regarding secret tunnels. Regardless I suppose I can make an effort of sort with the head-banging, it seems the information on this forum for Nethergate is a lot less than for the other games here. Lastly, what is that spell called?

Ah, I just realized I had that spell after starting over and make some custom characters. Which is going fantastically, and it's a lot more fun killing these goblins when I can loot all the things. Also just got Beast Ceremony, which is lovely in ways I don't fully comprehend. Also discovered I can actually use lamps. Very important.

Don't really want to make topic after topic for every question I have, so I'm just going to use this. How do I get past the force field things? The Matt P guide suggests only Romans can but for some reason that seems unlike?