GeneForge class tweeks.[G5]

Hey, I'm a game designer myself and I thought that...the stat page for GeneForge isn't very balanced. Let's list the pros and cons...

---Pros

-Create a varied character, classes are merely stat boosts and you can create a melee shaper or a magical guardian.

-Gives a feeling of customization and freedom

-Resemblance to DnD spreadsheets

-All customization and fairly balanced

---Cons

-Sacrifice damage output to access basic treasure (Sacrifice precious strength points for mechanics just to find that there's only one hundred coins and a thorn baton on the other side of the door)

-Some classes are unbalanced. The shaper is outrageously powerful, the game revolves around shaping, and therefore the shaper class. The agent class lacks the potential of shaping, and is the weakest.

-You must spend ten points just to assign one point to a single skill. This is not completely balanced, and the Avadon and Avernum: EftP outranks this system.

--------------My Suggestion

Hopefully Jeff is looking at this. Maybe not. However, the Avernum and Avadon systems are vastly superior. For example, they are not usually capped at around twelve points for one skill, they have a forty point cap. This creates more balance within the game, also considering that skills and stats now only cost one point to assign (with the exception of Avadon which still is weird)

So, keep the forty points cap stat system.

Then switch it to a skill tree.

---Pros!

-It's cheaper than a spread sheet. So you don't sacrifice stats for skills.

-It's beginner-friendly. Have you ever been crushed by creations, and found out that the build your using is completely terrible? This solves some of the problems.

-Even in GeneForge 1, these following skills are mostly canonical and very effective (I can't actually test them, i'm only giving an assumption)

-It may seem limiting, but a skill tree was not very restrictive in Avernum's remake.

---Cons!