Geneforge series now on Steam!

Due to complicated technical reasons, we are unable to put the Mac Geneforge games on Steam. Sorry about that. We know it sucks.

(Short explanation for the tech-savvy: Their system cannot handle Macintosh files with resource forks, and our older games are full of those. It would take a ton of reworking to get them to work, and we don't have time.)

- Jeff Vogel

Originally Posted By: Nelzoma
Why is The entire Geneforge series the same price as just Geneforge 5?

That confused me too, but it's actually not. You can't buy the games separately, just as a bundle. So if you buy one, you get them all. But for some reason steam originally listed them individually on the store front, which was kind of confusing.

I think? I've played all of these but I will certainly buy them again. Gotta catch em all...

I've been shilling for these games to all my friends for so many years, happy to see that they can reach a wider audience now. Congratulations on that Mr. Vogel, I grew up playing your games and it really does put a genuine smile on my face to see your continued success.

Originally Posted By: Thirsting Gemstone
I love you and your games Jeff, and I understand the reasoning, but I still wish you could put them on the mac for steam....
But nah, not like Mac users were your original fanbase or nothing.

He did say why he can't do it. And we Mac users still get the first release for new games, and they'll come out on Steam as well.

—Alorael, who doesn't really think Spiderweb is the right company to accuse of lacking Mac support. Steam and Apple's rapid technology changes are the real culprits, and both have good reasons of their own. Mostly, it's bad luck.

Originally Posted By: ubrgeek
I feel like an idiot. I didn't notice the Windows-only fact until after I purchased the games and got the error message that it wasn't playable on my system. Would have loved Steam to have made it obvious (and/or have a better return policy :()