Where to begin?

Owozifa

I hope this question doesn't get asked too much (it probably does), but I've basically just recently heard about these games and am interested in trying one out. I'd like to play one of the Avernum games, and since they come in two trilogies, I was wondering if Avernum 4 would be a decent place to start.

Just as a complete beginner here.

You can start with any of the Avernum games as they are not dependent on you having played the previous games. Avernum 4 is nice in that it is made on the newer game engine and also it the game that "saved" Spiderweb. If you do play Avernum 4 first continue on until Avernum 6 and then go back and play Avernum 1- 3.

Despite Jeff's recent claims that he just recycles everything, actually his engines have changed a lot over the years. For me, the first Geneforge game was the first one with graphics that were good enough not to get in the way. I tried Avernum 1 and 2, and Nethergate, and just could not make myself care what was happening with these tiny little blobs bipping across the crudely represented landscape. But Geneforge was great.

The basic look and feel of the Geneforge games doesn't change much over the series, the games tell one long story, and the first installment is many people's favorite of the five. So it makes sense to start with it, play the long demo, and decide whether you're in for the whole series. (The game engine does develop significantly, although the basic graphics change only slightly. But there are added monsters, spells, items, and features — crafting, mini-levels, joinable NPCs, more complicated and interactive plots.)

After getting used to Geneforge, I found I could tolerate the updated Avernum engine used for Avernum IV-VI. Then once I had spent some time with Avernum IV, I found that I could get into Blades of Avernum, Avernum II, and Nethergate: Resurrection, after all.