Hello All... New Around Here

Faithful

Hi Everyone,

I am new around here and wondered about something regarding the games Geneforgeand Avernum.

Since I am just starting out and it is too costly to think about purchasing both series here are my questions.

1. What are the main differences (Game Play, Engines, Graphics)?

2. Which would you suggest purchasing and why?

3. Which will hold up longer into the future (i.e. graphics, future Windows OS, etc.)?

I am sure there are more and better questions to ask about these two series, but I leave that for you all to fill in as I am not sure.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

1. Avernum is a turn-based game where you control multiple characters. In Geneforge, it's less turn-based, and you control one character.

2. I cannot speak to the merits of the Geneforge series, but Avernum has a long, epic storyline, memorable battles, and awfully pretty graphics (at least in the first three).

3. Not sure I understand the question.

Personally, I'm a devoted Avernum fan.

1. Geneforge is about being a single person involved in large conflicts between large groups. You can tip the balance. Its morality is less clear-cut, the choices you make that affect everyone else are more numerous and more ambiguous, and that's clearly what the game is built around. Also, it's more focused on a single primary character, possibly with some created accomplices.

Avernum is a more standard fantasy. You are the good guys, more or less, and you save the kingdom and/or world. The last few games give a bit more nuance, but that's the idea. It's more party-based, less single-character-friendly, and somewhat more generic in setting, although the setting is enjoyable enough.

The earlier Avernums have their own engine and graphics. The graphics are fine, but they're not as pretty as the ones in A4-A6, which are the same as the graphics used in Geneforge. Except some people prefer the A1-A3 graphics.