I don't like Avernum...

I started playing Avernum 2 and using my knowledge of the exile series to plan it out but I don't know if I should points in endurance etc and the fact I couldnt even lower some stats to boost other stats when making the beginning party further agitated me.

How come I die in like 2 shots? And how come my mage cant make a fireball... im so confused

If you want to make characters exactly to taste you need to select the "Custom" class. Then you can allocate all skill points to your heart's content.

A few points of Endurance are good, but you don't need to start with more than four or five points on your fighters. Actually, if you look at the Berserker class, it's not a bad build. You can customize it a little bit better, but using that class is fine for normal difficulty. You didn't raise the difficulty setting, did you?

There are no area spells in Avernums 1-3. There are spells that effect multiple targets like Ice Lances instead. You can even start with the spell if you raise your starting mage's skill high enough.

—Alorael, who wouldn't depend on knowledge of Exile skills to help in Avernum. The system has changed enough that it can trip you up badly.

Tactics in battle are way different. In Avernum you should let attackers come to you instead of having your fighters run up to them. Having 4 instead of 6 characters also takes a little getting use to since you will be more outnumbered in fights.

Custom characters also can't get more than a certain group of spells at the start so play around with the list of spells to get the maximum spells at the minimum mage or priest level.

Cloud of Blades is an area spell, but it's also a fairly late-game spell and a wall spell rather than a fireball.

—Alorael, who supposes he was, therefore, technically wrong. You still can't count on lobbing big blobs of damage at enemies regularly. Instead, you get to select a few enemies for damage.

Originally Posted By: Randomizer