First GeneForge

I am a beginning player. I would like to know what would be the best story line to take to familiarize myself with the game. I will be choosing a Shaper. I would preferably like an answer up to the first quarter of the game (that way it might not be too late to change my mind.)

I want to know the best of the three sects to join: The Awakened, Obeyers, or Takers.

Also what is the best Shaping Circle; Fire Creatures, Magical, or Battle Creatures? Or would it be good just to have them wide spread?

Also, is it necessary to have a shaper's magic skills high?

These are all the questions i have for now. Please note i am playing on normal difficulty. I ask these questions because i am quite new to GeneForge, and i haven't player SpiderWeb Software's other games. I'm hoping by asking people who are good fans of SpiderWeb, it might increase my experience with their games. And also help me learn some of the great secrets of the game.

Any opinions will be helpful.

Thanks,

Cmiller

It's possible to join all the sects at one time or another, but be warned that some become hostile after you leave. Also unless you have enough leadership you will have to do things to join that will make other sects hate you and attack.

In Geneforge 1, Fire and Magical creations are much better than Battle. It's better to pick one type because you can make them more powerful by specializing. This pretty much applies to any character since up to a certain point it pays to specialize.

I envy you, playing this game for the first time! The backstory is fascinating and there is some brilliant writing. G1 in particular is very atmospheric.

From a gameplay perspective, some of the encounters are a bit tough, especially for a first time player. But, playing as a Shaper class character is a good idea, make sure you get plenty of intelligence so you can increase the size of your army wink Also mechanics and leadership can help you to avoid difficult situations. Good luck!