A game programmer's point of view

Hi, I'm a hobbyist game programmer for the mac, and I started playing with the editor... ouch! pretty long stuff to write a good rpg story, even if you have the engine!

I am used to writing arcade games (actually I've written only one "serious" one (shareware) and a few other unreleased) and I am noticing the big difference between writing an "algorithmical" game, such as a puzzle/simple arcade (say like tetris or bomberman)and writing a story-based game(such as an rpg), where you have to put many ideas inside (while for a puzzle/arcade you might well have only one idea).

Just to put the walls for a few dungeons took me a lot of time, I don't even want to think about the rest... I think I'll give up since to make something good will take too much time, and I think I could write a simple new game from scratch instead (and try to sell it).

But I think what Jeff Vogel has done with BoA is simply the programmer's dream: I write the engine (that from a programmer's point of view is more fun than writing scenarios, I can assure you) and I'll have people writing great stories for it, making this product a win-win-win game: (Jeff Vogel wins - scenario developers win (have fun - can win prize) -normal players win (have many good quality adventures).

I think I'll take only the player's perspective in this case ;-)

PS. I've put a nice number of hours making some good enough dungeons and outdoors: if you want them just ask.

I'm also a hobbyist game programmer, but I've never released any shareware games, just freeware (that's why I call myself "hobbyist" :rolleyes: ).

But in fact, it was game editors that made me intrested in it. I think it all started with the one for Age of Empires, but it was the Blades of Exile editor that really made me understand how great game design really is.