Romans - spells not unlocking

Hi everyone,

I recently started playing this very nice game after getting into roman-fantasy thanks to the age of decadence and listening to a bunch of Jeff's talks on YT.

The gameplay is as enjoyable as I remember from my teen days, when I used to dabble in the avernum shareware for macOS.

I looked in the forums and online but found no answer to my question, hence here we are.

I have started the game with the preset party, with one roman "mage".

I noticed that even if I raised my Druidism skill to 4, my Healing circle to 4 and my War circle to 3, I only have access to the first two spells of the Healing and War circles.

Is this intended? I can of course fix this manually by using the trainer in the main menu, but I wanted to know if I am misinterpreting something or if it is just a bug/savegame issue.

Thanks to anyone who can help me!

Whew it's been a looong time since I've played Nethergate, but IIRC the Romans were nerfed in their magical abilities/maximum levels.  Again, it's been a long time but the Romans were better physically & the Celts with nature/magic.  So I can't answer your direct question, but your limits playing a Roman party doesn't surprise me either.

Hopefully someone with an actual answer wanders by soon for you.  In the meantime though, welcome (although it sounds like you've been around Spiderweb for a long time - if you have any interest, Steam & GOG generally have bundles of Jeff's other games on sale every now & then if you want to go back spelunking in Avernum).  Somewhere over near the front door is a box to drop off your sanity in.  Stick around long enough & you won't miss it...