G5 Modding Questions

MadCreator

Hi everybody, newbie here interested in doing some Geneforge 5 modding and I figured I'd ask a few questions before I got too much deeper into what I'm trying to do so I have a bit better idea of my options.

1. Is there any way to change core ability names like battle magic or fire shaping to something else?

2. Is there any way to make immobile creation sprites like pylons and turrets move without disappearing?

3. Are there any aspects of creations that can’t be changed besides (I think) essence cost and degrading creations?

4. Are there any general tips/ tricks/ tools you'd recommend to a new modder? TheKian's modding suite looked interesting but I couldn't get it to run and I'm not tech savvy enough to figure out why.

Any help is appreciated.

Welcome to Spiderweb Software. Please leave your sanity at the door. We are not responsible if you lose it. :)

1. Ability names are in a text document and can be changed.

2. You can the movement from 0, but weird things can happen.

4. Look at other mods and compare the changes to the original versions. Some changes can be complicated because they affect both your party and your foes.

4. The modding suite works for me. 
Tips: Start small. Cut your teeth with minor changes to creations and items, then adjusting dialogue, perhaps adding a small quest based on existing people etc. 

2. You can but it is more complicated than simply changing the movement from 0. You have to adjust the sprites for movement etc. 

Edited by alhoon

Excellent, thanks for the prompt replies, and the overall good news. I can't lose my sanity if I already discarded it.🥴

I have done a number of minor changes, this is the prelude to me doing potentially massive changes to confound and entertain myself and others, one step at a time. Weirdness is already included, I plan on abusing the aforementioned invisible sprite issue for a thematic invisible creation for example.