What is Gladwell Attempting to Accomplish?

I realize this might be a spoiler (which I don't mind) but having done the first quest, I'm thinking Gladwell isn't the sort of person I want to do quests for. He hits at a "greater purpose" but I'd like to know what that purpose is.

I'm new to the series but I notice from posts he appears in other games. Could someone enlighten me? It seems like his quests threaten to destabilize an already fragile world. Also he's an A^%&& (you know what). I'd like to just kill him but I'm guessing the Tower colony wouldn't like it and he'd probably wipe the floor with me anyway. God knows I barely made it out of the tower alive after retrieving the notes.

I took an instant disliking to the character the first time I met him. I have killed him in every episode, but the blinker keeps showing up.

Just for fun, you might want to play along with him just to see where he is going. That is one feature I like about these games. You can play variations of them.

I'm not the sort of person who plays these games multiple times (though I did for Fallout 3 and Skyrim) so that's why I'm asking. I don't want to do all these things that might have terrible consequences only to find out he wants to destroy or conquer the world. I want to know his ultimate goal so I can NOT do the quests (which is what I'll do if I don't find out). Is there actually a laudible goal, or is he the evil bastich he appears to be?

In Avernum 6 I'm pretty sure you can't kill Gladwell without first doing enough of his quests to learn his goal.

You can, but then the tower goes hostile.

I want to know his ultimate goal so I can NOT do the quests (which is what I'll do if I don't find out). Is there actually a laudible goal, or is he the evil bastich he appears to be?

In short : He wants to be the King.

How would letting 6 1000 point spectres loose make him King? Is he thinking he's be the only one who could destroy them or something?