Can a "noob-party" win Avernum 5?

Cfant

Hi everyone!

Bought Avernum 5 and played a few days, like the setting very much, but I'm getting quite frustrated. I'm quite new to Spiderweb Software games, although I (successfully) played a lot of rpg in my gamer life :) But here I have several problems. Reading in the forum makes me fear, I have to surrender the game, so I decided to ask you "veterans" of Avernum ;)

1. What's this for a leveling system? I read, that beating enemys don't bring me exp? How can I plan to level up?

2. I turned down difficulty to easy already, as most (harder) fights are a "try - reload - find proper tactic - have bad luck - reload until luck is on my side - win" issue - which of course is not very funny. Now, on easy, I get stamped into the ground by Persephone and her guys in Exodus. Is it a especially hard fight, or isn't it just a game for me?

3. How can I help my heroes against spell/acid/fire attacks? I find no helpful spells, and armour I get bring me 5% or somethin like that - nearly each "special" attack of the enemy hits (what of course brings me down quite fast). And my guys reach new levels very seldom (level 11 at the moment), so I can't level attacks skills and defensive skills often enough.

4. How can I see, how far the enemy can go? Is there any way to keep distance in fights?

5. Enemys block a lot of damage (even bats block 20 of 40 damage). My supermen are equal to bats, although they wear armour. Is that wanted?

6. At least, it's all just one major question: If you play this game, handle your party as would be proper in most rpgs, level the guys according to you common sense - is there a chance to beat the game? Or will it be an eternal reload-session? An eternay try-and-error way, consuming time I don't have since my students day ended years ago? :(

If it's a game, where you need to experiment a lot with several teams and talents and so on - well, then it's fine, but not mine ;)

Thanks and greetings!