Beraza Deep Woods (Varoche)

Kelandon

Okay, I'm at my wits end. I have a blademaster lead with Shima and Nathalie in Beraza Deep Woods. The blademaster is primarily a meat shield; he has over 500 health, and he can deal out decent melee damage, but he doesn't have much in the way of archery. Shima is reasonably well-balanced, though more on the direct-damage than on the effects side. Nathalie, too, is somewhat well-balanced, but erring more on the direct-damage and less on the effects, too.

Now, this was all well and good until I got into the end of the Beraza Deep Woods. I've been playing on Hard this whole time and would hate to drop down to a lower difficulty for this, but I've replayed the Viscount Varoche fight several times and never even come close to accomplishing anything (i.e. I can't kill a single person).

As far as I can tell, given that they have Blade Shield and Reflection, the only recourse I have is physical damage from a distance, but none of my three party members has any real archery ability. I have tons of items (elixirs, resurrection scrolls, etc.) that I've barely touched throughout most of the game, but none of them seem to help.

So my question is: what should I being as far as strategy here? I can't for the life of me figure out how to accomplish much of anything.

This is one of those fights where Jeff scripted it to happen a certain way, but you should be able to do it anyway. The trick that Jeff planned was to split up Varoche and the rest using knockback attacks. It is doable on torment without this, but my party favored range attacks and high dexterity (over 32) to avoid getting hit.

Use speed items here to get extra attacks at the start. If you get lucky you might even kill a few in the first round. I used a scroll from the first character and got in 5 area attacks as they stood together.

They don't always have reflection and that comes from the sorceress so taking her out first opens up more options for attacks.