"Your skills aren't high enough to use this ability"

athom

Hello, I just started playing the game, and I can't help but notice that my Shaman can't use her big damage ability, despite having three levels in it! My sorceress companion has the same problem, she can use one of her level 1 abilities (Daze), but not the other (attack skill). I looked through the help but I couldn't find anything that would clue me in as to what I'm doing wrong! Any suggestions?

Level 3 skills work automatically when you use it at level 1. Sometimes with cleave and others it is only a percentage chance that they will work.

Level 6 skills require using a different ability letter than the lower version and usually do something different.

Welcome to Spiderweb Software. Please leave your sanity at the door.

I appriciate the response, but what I meant is that the skill doesn't work AT ALL. Even though I have multiple levels in it, it is still greyed out, with the text "Your skills aren't high enough to use this ability". Is this normal, am I doing something wrong, or is it a bug?

Greyed out skills require more skill points to use them. When you level up and train you put skill points into increasing an existing one or learning a new one. It should work if you trained in it. I've only got that message for ones I haven't trained in.

If you are low in vitality then you can't use skills.

Yeah, pretty sure its a bug at this point... or maybe I'm still playing the demo (can't register till my paycheck comes through). Assuming that isn't a regular feature of the demo, is there any specific place you go to report bugs, or is just posting it here enough?

athom, I think I can help.

1. Tell me the exact name of the ability you can't use.

2. Open your training window and tell me how much you have currently trained the skill attached to that ability.

You could also send screenshots to support@spiderwebsoftware.com. Take a shot of both the training screen and the use ability screen.