Noob question re: dialogue

Jerakeen

I think that you'll (in the code section of the relevant node) first need to use the string buffer to construct the string to display (using append_char_name(), in particular), and then use message_dialog() to inject the result into the dialogue system.

This will restrict you to having only two chunks of text, total, displayed for that node (I think), but this is the only way to display dynamically generated text that I know of, off of the top of my head.

Ah. That would explain why it isn't done more often.

My understanding is that the string buffer replaces any strings that were already in the node, but I assume you can make its activation conditional, say on an SDF? (Please remember that I'm not a programmer.)

If anyone can remember a scenario in which this is done, I would find it extremely helpful to be able to look at it in practice.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Quote:
My understanding is that the string buffer replaces any strings that were already in the node, but I assume you can make its activation conditional, say on an SDF? (Please remember that I'm not a programmer.)

You're mixing together a couple of ideas here.

The string buffer is just a piece of scratch space set aside for you to build up strings in. The usual pattern is to erase whatever is in the buffer, make some calls which write pieces data into the buffer (each one adding onto the end of what is already in the buffer), and then copy the contents of the buffer into a string variable, so that it can be sent to some other call which will do something with the string (like display it).