Avadon the Black Fortress on Android - a casual gamer's review

ymoc

Let me first bid everyone a big hello!

This is my first time posting here so please excuse any mistakes (English is my second laguage) or misunderstandings I might have about the game and everything surrounding it.

"Coincidentally", Avadon is also the first game from Spiderweb that I have played.

To be fair, I probably never would have played the game were it not for the Humble Bundle which featured Avadon The Black Fortress as one of its titles.

The reason why I joined this forum was to express my opinion about this game and (mostly) give some hopefully constructive criticism and review.

Next thing important thing to consider is: I played the game (on normal) on my tablet so my impressions are a reflection of that version and not the PC.

I am not a gaming journalist so my reviewing skills aren't particularly great, but I will try my best to give a good opinion from a perspective of a somewhat casual gamer that loves turn based and rpg games.

• Graphics:

To me, the first thing I see in a rpg are the graphics. This is one of the biggest factors by which I decide whether I want to play (but not necessarily like) a game or not.

I grew up to love the Diablo 2 and Divine Divinity-kind-of look the most over the years, with its beautiful 2d environments and characters so that kind of games always have a soft spot in my heart.

That being said, I have to be frank about Avadon. I immediately felt the game to be rather unpleasant to my eyes. Apart from the character portraits the game looked pretty bleak and monotone and the locations almost all the time seemed too similar to each other.