On a Ship to Algiers

SHYGUY

On a Ship to Algiers is a short but bumpy ride.

I just played this one for the first time. Maybe as a designer I'm harder on scenarios than the others. Or maybe it was good in it's day. But I found it to be a standard, monster on the lose tale. I had no interest in the characters, as they were basically there just to be monster food.

And the mage who helped me and lead me to the monster just made me feel like a pawn and not like I was doing or discovering anything on my own.

This was a linear adventure with virtually no role-playing elements as I was given few choices to make. I was offered some basic equipment, allowed training only when the author saw fit, and shops and services were dangled in front of me and then taken away when I most needed them.

On the positive side, the aboved mentioned limitations DID offer some challenging combat sequences and forced the player to use some tactics that he might not normally use. It was bug free and quite polished, though a little on the short side.

In closing, if you want a quick BoE fix with a couple of nice combat sequences, you'll probably enjoy this one.

My score is Average

CALIGULA

As always, it is good to notice that some of the following informations can be considered as SPOILERS.

Alcritas is now a prolific designer, but this was his first successful attempt. First successful, in the way that he began some bigger scenarios before, but let them down and decided to make Algiers, a smaller and more easily designable scenario. So, he had some designing skills before he did this one, and this is obvious since the beginning.