Downloading windows powerpoint 2007?

Acky

I know that open source seems kind of scary at first, but I can recommend OpenOffice.org a lot. I've been using it on Windows for many years and found that it was actually easier to work with than MS Office (though admittedly, the last MS Office I saw was 2000; it might have gotten better).

It can open and save all MS Office extensions like ppt and pptx, too.

You can download PowerPoint Viewer, which lets you display but not create or modify PowerPoint presentations.

If you want to create or modify PowerPoint presentations for free, I second Arancaytar's OpenOffice suggestion. I've only used OpenOffice Writer extensively, however. I found it about as easy to use and about as powerful as Microsoft Word 2000 was (I'm lost with Word 2007 and its infernal Ribbon). My only gripe with OpenOffice Writer is that its grammar checking is far inferior to Microsoft Word's.

My girlfriend has tried to make PowerPoint presentations in OOo, but when she saves them as PPT files and tries to use them on a copy of Microsoft Office, it gives her an error and doesn't open. This has caused problems because normally when she does this she's giving a presentation in class. What might be going wrong?

Other than that, I also recommend OOo.

Quote:
I know that open source seems kind of scary at first, but I can recommend OpenOffice.org a lot. I've been using it on Windows for many years and found that it was actually easier to work with than MS Office (though admittedly, the last MS Office I saw was 2000; it might have gotten better).

Sweet.

Now I have no excuse to keep procrastinating tongue

NeoOffice and Open Office also have vector editors. The problem I've encountered with most vector editors is that they have too many features and too much power with instant user-friendliness left as a definite second priority.

—Alorael, who should check in on the open source drawing programs again. It's been a few years, and they may have improved.