A lil dilemma...

Hi everyone,

i'm kinda new here, obviously...so please be easy on me~ hmm...juz having a lil bit of dilemma rite now...hope u guys could help!

Ah...it's about a choice actually. Between 2 games.

Avernum 2. Avernum 4.

I've played Exile 3, Geneforge 1/2, Avernum 3 a -long long- time ago, so i'm not really a beginner...but lately my time is fairly limited, because of this..affliction..called The Real Life. So between those two, n judging from the games i've played, which one do u guys think i should focus on? Or rather, try to play all the way to the end...

Hmm...from what i've heard, Avernum 4 is really great on combat, but not really plot-wise....n there're also some minor annoyances i've heard here n there in the forums - the Pokemon-like "death" system for example. I'm not totally against it, though it -is- a lil bit unrealistic....but let's not get into that shall we? smile

Ah...about Avernum 2. The story as we all know, is quite good. Very good in fact...but maybe the combat is a lil bland? At least when compared to Avernum 4....i looove to have some -real- strategies when fighting, n not juz the usual haste-bless-shield-whatever-wait manuever in every fight....

But then again, i can't really say much, as i've only played the demos of both game...n even so not even until the point of completion...because of time constraints and other stuff going on...so, last but not least...c'mon people, convince me! Sway me to your side!!! mad

Oh ya, thanks!

Avernum 2.

Many people like Avernum 4, apparently, and I'm not saying you shouldn't get both - especially if you played Geneforge and liked it - but Avernum 2 beats its successor hands down in story, immersion, game play and just plain avernum-ness. Ask here on the boards, and you will hear "A2" from just about everyone.

Edit: And that's just here on the A4 board. :p

Quote:
Originally written by Me.: